MIT Assistant Professor Justin Reich awarded the AERA 2019 Jan Hawkins Award | MIT J-WEL

You are here

MIT Assistant Professor Justin Reich awarded the AERA 2019 Jan Hawkins Award


On April 7, 2019, Justin Reich, MIT assistant professor of Comparative Media Studies and Director of the Teaching Systems Lab, received the Jan Hawkins Award, along with and Dr. Shirin Vossoughi (Northwestern). The award was established in 2000 and is given annually to outstanding researchers for "Early Career Contributions to Humanistic Research and Scholarship in Learning Technologies."

Reich and his colleagues at TSL design, research, and implement the future of teacher learning. He is also the co-founder of EdTechTeacher, a professional learning consultancy devoted to helping teachers leverage technology to create student-centered, inquiry-based learning environments.

In 2018, Reich received a J-WEL Grant in pK-12 Education Innovation for his project, "Teacher Practice Spaces for Equity Teaching Practices." Equity Teaching Practices are classroom strategies that counter the pernicious effects of structural inequality. The goal is to use TSL's simulation platform, TeacherMoments, to help teachers from all disciplines, with particular emphasis on STEM fields, rehearse for and reflect on these practices. He works closely with J-WEL and most recently facilitated a session on "Launching Innovation in Schools" at the April 2019 J-WEL Week

Reich and Vossoughi will address attendees at the 2020 American Educational Research Association (AERA) Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

Read more about Jan Hawkins' legacy and past winners.