The University of Sharjah joins Higher Education @ J-WEL | MIT J-WEL

You are here

The University of Sharjah joins Higher Education @ J-WEL


The J-WEL team is delighted to welcome the University of Sharjah (also known as UOS or Sharjah University) as an Affiliate Member of J-WEL’s Higher Education Collaborative, making UOS the first Middle Eastern university to formally join J-WEL. Dr. Salah Taher Al Haj, Vice Chancellor for Community Affairs at UOS, represented the university at the membership signing on September 26, 2018, at MIT. Representatives of the Consulate General of the United Arab Emirates in Boston also attended the ceremony. 
The University of Sharjah is an Emirati private national university located in University City, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. UOS is one of the largest universities in the United Arab Emirates, with over 10,000 students, 14 colleges, and an offering of 99 programs at the bachelors, masters, doctoral, and diploma levels. 

Higher Education @ J-WEL, led by Faculty Director Professor Hazel Sive, has been joined by members from Africa, Asia, Australia, Latin America, and the Caribbean. These include Ahmadu Bello University (Nigeria), Covenant University (Nigeria), Curtin University (Australia), Seikei University (Japan), Universidad de los Andes (Colombia), Universidad Mayor (Chile), Universitas Padjadjaran (Indonesia), the University of São Paulo (Brazil), and the University of The Bahamas.

Photo: MIT Professor Hazel Sive and UOS Vice Chancellor Dr. Salah Taher Al Haj